Chartreuse Trek: Day 3/6

Publié le par Romain

The 3rd day is often the most difficult, as your body is tired and still not used (feet, shoulders) with your trekking efforts ... and indeed, i fell like painful from everywhere this morning. But but but, that's gonna be ok, and I especially chose an easier 3rd day in my trekking plan. So, let's go!!!
I go down the valley of the 'Grande Charteuse' monastery, famous for its silent monks (if you can endure, watch the movie 'the great silence' ... all the movie is shot in and around this monastery) and strong alcool (la Chartreuse).
After the end of the monastery's vally, I cross the river (see pic below) at the bottom of the main valley and start to climb up again. The way is very quiet, as the road is temporarily cut ... I barely meet people, except young children on a summer camp comparing me with a snail, haha :).

River at the bottom of the valley

lunch time field

Continuing to climb, I finally arrive to a barn around 2PM ... and guess what, exactly at this moment it starts to rain :) ... I run (something between running and crawling, exactly) under a tree (see pic above), and enjoy my lunch watching the rain. When it starts raining like that, you cannot expect a short storm, it's gonna rain for a long time ... anyway, that can be quite a magical atmosphere.
I continue to climb up, following a smaller and smaller path surrounded by cliffs ... after the rain, the fog, and finally I go througth the very narrow pass (follow the mushrooms, see pic below) to reach the side of the final valley of the day.

mushroom in the fog, la la la la ...

The atmosphere is magical ... the valley is very remote, and walking down in the forest I can see the deers and birds raving around. Finally, I find the main road and walk 1km to reach the field of the Charmette's pass (see pic below). After a coffee under a tree to get some warmth, I put my bag in a dry (stricly speaking, less wet) place and start to erect the tent for the night. And it's reaaaally raining hard now, so I enter fast the tent at dusk and fell asleep even faster.


Col de la Charmette: my home for tonight

Good news in the morning, the rain is finished and a lovely clear blue atmosphere allow me to enjoy a really nice breakfast, alone in the mountains.

The sun is back in the morning!!

Publié dans Randonnées-Treks

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article